Leadership Council

Our Leadership Council represents an outstanding group of cross-sector leaders who are dedicated to our mission of making a service year a common expectation and opportunity for all young Americans.


Our Leadership Council engages influential individuals in endorsing and aiding the work of Service Year Alliance. Members are our most distinguished advisers and friends. They are invited to key stakeholder meetings, summits, and media opportunities, participate in speaking engagements, and publish opinion pieces about the power of national service.

We are recruiting Leadership Council Co-Chairs who represent the bridging, postsecondary pathways, and climate ecosystems and can serve as issue area experts and close advisers for Service Year Alliance’s work across these sectors.

Learn More

More recently, we've worked to bring together a group of diverse alums to join our new Alums Committee. Our Alums Committee is a subgroup of our bipartisan and cross-sector Leadership Council consisting of select service year alums who act as advisers and thought leaders by bringing service year alum voices and perspectives to Service Year Alliance’s work. Continue scrolling below to read and learn about our new members.

Leadership Council Members

Edward Allard, III, Former Deputy Director, US Selective Service System

Kristen Soltis Anderson, Pollster, Echelon Insights

José Andrés, President/Chef, ThinkFoodGroup

Donald A. Baer, Chief Executive Officer, Burson-Marsteller

Melody Barnes, Chief Executive Officer, Melody Barnes Solutions, LLC.

Steven Barney, Former Commissioner, National Commission on Military, National and Public Service 

Anna Burger, Former Secretary-Treasurer, Service Employees International Union

Barbara Bush, Chief Executive Officer, Global Health Corps

Jean Case, Chief Executive Officer, Case Foundation

Raymond G. Chambers, Founding Chairman, Points of Light Foundation

Emily Cherniack, Founder, New Politics

AnnMaura Connolly, President, Voices for National Service

Adam Coretz, Senior Programming Manager, NationSwell

  Richard Danzig, Former Secretary of the Navy

Janine Davidson, President, Metropolitan State University of Denver and Former Under Secretary of the United States Navy

John Dilulio, Frederic Fox Leadership Professor of Politics, Religion, and Civil Society, University of Pennsylvania

Ann E. Dunwoody, General (ret.) U.S. Army

Michèle Flournoy, Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer Center for New American Security

John D. Gardner, Lt. General (ret.) U.S. Army

Robert Gates, Former Secretary of Defense

Mark Gearan, Director of the Institute of Politics, Harvard Kennedy School

David Gergen, Senior Political Analyst, CNN

Michael Gerson, Op-Ed Columnist, The Washington Post

Dan Glickman, Executive Director, Congressional Program Aspen Institute

Seth Goldman, Founder and TeaEO Emeritus, Honest Tea

Jennifer Granholm, Resident Fellow, Institute of Politics, University of Chicago

Devon Gray, President, End Poverty in California (EPIC)

Stephen J. Hadley, Chairman, United States Institute of Peace

Andrew Hauptman, Chairman, Andell, Inc.

Arianna Huffington, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Thrive Global

Walter Isaacson, President and Chief Executive Officer, Aspen Institute

Sebastian Junger, Journalist and Author

Dirk Kempthorne, Former Secretary of the Interior

Vanessa Kerry, CEO, Seed Global Health

Laura Lauder, General Partner, Lauder Partners, LLC

Jonathan Lavine, Co-Managing Partner, Bain Capital

Jack Lew, Former US Secretary of the Treasury

Jason Mangone, Author

Mel Martinez, Chairman, Southeast U.S. and Latin America, JP Morgan Chase & Co.

Zach Maurin, Former Executive Director, Service Year Alliance

 Brad Meltzer, Author

Jamie Merisotis, President and Chief Executive Officer, Lumina Foundation

Jonathan Missner, Managing Partner, Stein Mitchell Beato & Missner

Michael Montelongo, President and Chief Executive Officer, GRC Advisory Services, LLC

Rosabeth Moss Kanter, Ernest L. Artbuckle Professor of Business Administration Harvard University

Lisette Nieves, Clinical Professor of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies and Director of Leadership Programs at NYU Steinhardt

Steven Olikara, Founder and President, Millenial Action Project

Deval Patrick, Former Governor of Massachusetts and Co-Director, Center for Public Leadership at the Harvard Kennedy School

W. Taylor Reveley, President of the College of William & Mary

Condoleezza Rice, Professor of Political Science Stanford University

Matt Ronen, Founder, ServiceCorps

Isabel Sawhill, Senior Fellow, The Brookings Institution 

Kori Schake, Director of Foreign and Defense Policy Studies, American Enterprise Institute

Billy Shore, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Share Our Strength

Dr. Robert Simmons lll, CEO Maya Angelou Schools

Timothy Shriver, Chairman, Special Olympics

Shawn Skelly, Former Commissioner, National Commission on Military, National and Public Service

Olympia Snowe, Senior Fellow, Bipartisan Policy Center

Barbara Stewart, Former Chief Executive Officer, AmeriCorps

Laurie M. Tisch, President, Laurie M. Tisch Illumination Fund

Michael Tubbs, Founder, End Poverty in California (EPIC) & Special Advisor to California Governor Gavin Newsom for Economic Mobility

Elisa Villanueva Beard, CEO, Teach for America 

Debra Wada, Former Vice Chair for Military Service, National Commission on Military, National and Public Service
Aaron Williams, Former Director of the Peace Corps

Leadership Council Alums Committee Members


The Alums Committee of Service Year Alliance’s Leadership Council is a subgroup of our bipartisan and cross-sector Leadership Council consisting of select service year alums who act as advisers and thought leaders by bringing service year alums voices and perspectives to Service Year Alliance’s work. Here are some of our latest members:

Willie Brooks, Director of Programs, Serve Indiana

Kalan Cole, Wildland Firefighter, Forest Service

Jaynice Del Rosario, Program Officer

Nicki Fiocco, Director of Program & Communications, Transform Mid-Atlantic

Jason Hatch, Retired Army Officer

Chelsey Hudson, Program Manager

Jamier Jones, Job Developer, Career Team

Melissa Sullivan

Heather Thomson, Program Specialist

Learn About More Our Committee Members Here

With questions, to learn more, or to join the Leadership Council, please contact Maureen Eccleston at [email protected].




Leadership Council
Leadership Council
Our Vision